Studying in Jena

Jena, the City of Science 2008, was appropriately described by Goethe as a city “stacked” with knowledge.  Nestling in the picturesque Saale valley, the town couldn’t be more convenient in terms of location or size: here, nothing is far.

Jena is a city of diversity: the university offers a wide range of courses and actively promotes contact between students and scientists from different fields. This attention to networking is one of the reasons behind the success of the dynamic and aspiring city over the last 20 years. Business and academia (in the form of the university and the neighbouring Max Planck and Leibnitz Institutes) work hand in hand, and “town and gown” also collaborate successfully to ensure that Jena continues to develop into a student paradise. Free use of public transport, the absence of university fees, attractive recreational facilities, an exemplary social infrastructure - especially for young families, and a cosmopolitan climate attract over 2000 new students to Jena every year.

Biology has a long tradition in Jena. The city was the workplace of the zoologist Ernst Haeckel, the botanist Matthias Jakob Schleiden and the geneticist and botanist Otto Renner. The infrastructure available to students and scientists in the field of evolution, ecology and systematics is internationally outstanding and includes the renowned zoological collection and exhibitions of the Phyletisches Museum, the Botanical Gardens, the Haussknecht Herbarium (the largest in Germany), the long-term research facility “Jena Experiment”, the biodiversity exploratorium in the Hainich National Park and, of course, a well-stocked library.  

As mentioned earlier, distances are small in Jena. This applies too to that between research and teaching which are so closely integrated that students are able to grow confidently into their subject and to learn in an atmosphere of openness and cooperation between the institutes and tutors involved.

Studieren in Jena

In Jena, der Stadt der Wissenschaft des Jahres 2008, ist man mittendrin in der „Stapelstadt des Wissens“ (Goethe). In Jena ist nichts weit; die Stadt liegt eingebettet in die schöne Landschaft des Saaletals. Jena ist eine Stadt der Vielfalt: Die Universität bietet eine breite Palette von Studiengängen und pflegt den Kontakt zwischen Studierenden und Wissenschaftlern verschiedener Fächer. In dieser Vernetzung liegt einer der Gründe für den Erfolg der dynamischen und aufstrebenden Stadt in den letzten 20 Jahren. Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft in der Universität und in benachbarten Großinstituten der Max-Planck Gesellschaft und der Gottfried Wilhelm Leibnitz Gemeinschaft arbeiten eng zusammen, und auch Universität und Stadt bemühen sich mit Erfolg darum, dass sich Jena immer mehr zu einem Studentenparadies entwickelt. Kostenlose Benutzung von öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln, Verzicht auf Studiengebühren, attraktive Freizeitangebote, beispielhafte soziale Infrastruktur besonders für junge Familien und ein weltoffenes Klima ziehen jedes Jahr mehr als 2000 neue Studenten nach Jena.

Die Biologie hat in Jena eine große Tradition. Hier haben der Zoologe Ernst Haeckel, der Botaniker Matthias Jakob Schleiden und der Genetiker und Botaniker Otto Renner die Wissenschaft voran gebracht. Studierende und Wissenschaftler können für den Bereich Evolution, Ökologie und Systematik eine auch im internationalen Vergleich hervorragende Infrastruktur nutzen: Die bedeutende zoologische Sammlung und die Ausstellungen des Phyletischen Museums, den Botanischen Garten, das Herbarium Haussknecht als größtes deutsches Herbarium, die Langzeitforschungsanlage des „Jena-Experimentes“, das Biodiversitätsexploratorium im Nationalpark Hainich und natürlich eine gut ausgestattete Fachbibliothek.

Wie gesagt, in Jena ist nichts weit. Dies gilt auch für die enge Verzahnung von Forschung und Lehre. Hier wachsen Studierende direkt in ihre Wissenschaft hinein und lernen in einem offenen Klima zwischen den beteiligten Instituten und Dozenten.